Welcome to A New Place to Stand.

You may be wondering about the title I’ve chosen for this blog. I will tell you upfront that I am unashamedly a Christian. In my Bible readings I came across Psalm 40, which says, “I waited patiently for the Lord; And He inclined to me and heard my cry. He brought me up out of the pit of destruction, out of the miry clay, And He set my feet upon a rock making my footsteps firm. He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God; Many will see and fear and will trust in the Lord.” And that’s exactly what happened for me after I decided to quit playing at recovery and get serious. God lifted me out of the miry clay that kept me stuck in the pit, and He set me on a rock; He gave me A New Place to Stand.

This is a place to talk about healing from the wounds and the process of recovery. It is NOT a place to talk about the details of the abuse. I sincerely do not want to re-traumatize anyone by allowing them to read about the details of another person’s abuse. I welcome your comments, and it is important to know that I can approve or delete any comment. I hope it won’t be necessary, but I will censor and delete any that I deem inappropriate.

As I said, I am a Christian, but I want to welcome you whether or not you share my beliefs. I will mention my faith and God’s work in my life when appropriate, but I promise not to try to force my beliefs on you.

So, welcome to A New Place to Stand. I hope this will be a place of hope and encouragement and healing for you.

All material on this site is copyrighted by Caren Austen — 2011 – 2014.

Leave a Reply

